DNEG at VIEW Conference 2021

Our teams will give talks on Animation, Virtual Production & the Oscar-winning VFX of Tenet!

We’re thrilled to participate in this year’s VIEW Conference — free to attend!

We’re so excited to be participating in VIEW 2021, Italy’s premier international event on Computer Graphics, Interactive Techniques, Digital Cinema, 2D/3D Animation, VR & AR, Gaming and VFX!

VIEW 2021 will continue to focus on exploring the increasingly fluid boundary between real and digital worlds. Running from October 17 – October 22nd, this year’s conference is jam-packed with incredible presentations, exhibits, panels and more. The event takes place online and in-person in Torino, Italy.

Best of all, our DNEG team will be there to represent the many corners of our work, from animation to visual effects, virtual production and more! Scroll down to learn more about what we’ve got lined up.

Click here to register for free tickets!

MONDAY, OCTOBER 18th

 

Inside the Special Effects of Tenet | Talk

2:00 pm BST / 9:00 am EDT / 6:00 am PDT — In Speaker’s Corner (Online)

ANDREW JACKSON (VFX Supervisor, DNEG)

Oscar-winning VFX Supervisor Andrew Jackson discusses the harmonious coupling of special effects and visual effects in Christopher Nolan’s latest film, ‘TENET’. In this talk, he reflects on the creative processes and unique collaboration that ultimately brought Nolan’s vision from script to screen. Along with teasing out the film’s critical concepts — for example, the scientific differences between ‘backwards’ and ‘inverted’ — this talk touches on the recent resurgence of in-camera practical effects, the iconic 747 crash scene, and much more. Don’t miss this deep dive into one of last year’s most innovative cinematic achievements.

 

Fireworks: The Making of a Virtual Production | Talk

3:15 pm BST / 10:15 am EDT / 7:15 am PDT — In Speaker’s Corner (Online)

PAUL FRANKLIN (Creative Director, DNEG), ANNALISE DAVIS (Producer, Wilder Films)

Oscar-winning VFX Supervisor & DNEG Creative Director Paul Franklin shares details about his latest directorial outing, ‘Fireworks’, a political thriller written by Steven Lally and produced by Annalise Davis. With an MI6 operation underway on an active target the other side of the world, team leader GILLIAN LYE is forced to make tough decisions. State of the art virtual production technology brings to life the blurred images on the MI6 screens and we see the real, innocent people who may become collateral damage.

 
 

TUESDAY, OCTOBER 19th

 

A Bright Animated Future: How the Animation Industry is Expanding | Talk

3:30 pm BST / 10:30 am EDT / 7:30 am PDT — In Mezzanino (Online)

DAVID PRESCOTT (SVP Creative Production, DNEG Animation)

Join DNEG Animation’s SVP of Creative Production David Prescott as he tracks the recent explosive growth within the animation industry and asks if we are in the next Golden Age of Animation. This is a discussion on new partnerships, the technical advances, creative possibilities, and the resulting converging opportunities in the future of animation.

 
 

WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 20th

 

Future of VFX | Panel

9:00 pm BST / 4:00 pm EDT / 1:00 pm PDT — In Speaker’s Corner (Online)

PAUL FRANKLIN (Creative Director, DNEG)

The expanding entertainment demand and rapid advancement of technology has made Animation and VFX available to the masses, and this industry has become one of the fastest growing segments in the global media and entertainment market. Our very own Paul Franklin joins a panel of industry experts to share their predictions for the future of the field.

 
 

FRIDAY, OCTOBER 22nd

 

Moving Animation From the Traditional into the Unreal | Panel

4:15 pm BST / 11:15 am EDT / 8:15 am PDT — In Mezzanino (Online)

DAVID PRESCOTT (SVP Creative Production, DNEG Animation), TAYLOR MOLL (VFX Supervisor, DNEG Animation), SHELLEY SMITH (Producer, DNEG Animation), GABRIELE PELLEGRINI (Supervising Technical Director, DNEG Animation)

Moderated by CAROLYN GIARDINA (Tech Editor, The Hollywood Reporter)

Moving a traditional feature animation pipeline into a real time renderer requires creative problem solving from both the production, the technology, and the leadership. Listen as the makers of the new short from Academy Award-winning director Bill Joyce and DNEG Animation, Mr. Spam Gets a New Hat, discuss their creative journey, as well as their thoughts on the future of Unreal in animation production.

London

Vancouver

Mumbai

Los Angeles

Chennai

Montréal

Chandigarh

Bangalore

Toronto